DA Trustees

Dr Stuart Wilks-Heeg (Chair) 

Stuart joined the University of Liverpool in 2002 as a Lecturer in Social Policy. He was previously the Director of Democratic Audit. He was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2010. He is recognised as a leading expert on the UK democratic process, particularly with regard to issues associated with the mechanics of the electoral process. Stuart frequently provides UK political commentary and analysis for newspapers and broadcasters regionally, nationally and internationally. He also contributes to a range of leading political blogs, and tweets on UK politics @stuartwilksheeg


Clare Coatman

Clare Coatman has worked on a range of projects within the democratic reform sector including as National Coordinator for High Visibility with Yes! to Fairer Votes, Head of Operations for Power2010 and Participation Manager for the Convention on Modern Liberty. She has been involved in activism since being a school student spokesperson during the Iraq War protests.


Tufyal Choudhury

Tufyal Choudhury is a Lecturer in Law at Durham University. His research and publications cover the areas of racial and religious discrimination, integration, human rights and counter terrorism, contributing to advancing both academic and public policy debates.

He has held national level advisory positions to government (Department of Communities and Local Government, Community Attitudes Survey), NGOs (JUSTICE, Discrimination Law Project), Charities (Trustee at the Muslim Youth Helpline www.myh.org) and other bodies (Judicial Studies Board’s Equal Treatment Advisory Committee www.jsboard.co.uk). He is a member of the Muslims in Britain Research Network and the Durham University Human Rights Centre.

At the international level, he has provided briefings on issues relating to his research to the European Union Parliamentary group on anti-racism and diversity, the OSCE, and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.


Professor Tim Bale

Tim Bale graduated from Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge.  After teaching English in Spain, he did a Masters Degree at Northwestern University in the USA.  Following a few years spent working for the NHS, he returned to do a PhD at the Department of Politics at Sheffield University, where he then lectured for a year.  After Sheffield, he taught politics at Victoria University of Wellington in New Zealand.  He joined the department at Sussex in 2003 and has been the Undergraduate Admissions Tutor for Politics since 2004.  Tim is also the Department’s Official Representative for the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) and for four years was the co-editor of the European Journal of Political Research‘s annual Political Data Yearbook.  In 2008 he won the Political Studies Association‘s Bernard Crick Prize for Outstanding Teaching.  He is also the convenor of the PSA’s specialist group on Conservatives and Conservatism and provides an Internet Guide to European Politics. Tim’s media work includes writing for the Financial Times and the Guardian, and he has appeared on various BBC radio and television programmes.  He occasionally tweets @ProfTimBale.


Scarlett MccGwire

Scarlett MccGwire is a journalist and communications trainer. She has worked with many politicians in Russia and east-central Europe (including Kosovo) through the Westminster Foundation for Democracy.


Dr Rosie Campbell

Dr Rosie Campbell joined Birkbeck in 2003 and is a Reader in Politics. She has research interests in voting behaviour, political participation, representation, political careers and gender and politics. Rosie is Vice Chair of the Political Studies Association’s (PSA) Executive Committee. She teaches Modern British politics and research methods. Her book ‘Gender and the Vote in Britain’ was published in 2006 and she has recently published in the British Journal of Political Science, British Politics, Political Quarterly and she has articles forthcoming in Political Studies and the BJPIR.


Dr Oliver Escobar

Dr Oliver Escobar is a Lecturer in Public Policy at the University of Edinburgh and part of the What Works Scotland team. His areas of research, teaching and practice are participatory democracy, public dialogue and deliberation, and collaborative policy-making. He is a Public Engagement Fellow for the Beltane Network, an Honorary Researcher at QMU’s Centre for Dialogue, a Trustee of Democratic Audit UK, and the Director of ClimateXChange’s Citizens’ Juries. Oliver founded and coordinates theCitizen Participation Network, has trained hundreds of public engagement practitioners, and is involved in developing democratic innovations across various policy arenas in Scotland and beyond.


If you require contact information for any of Democratic Audit UK’s trustees, contact democraticaudit@lse.ac.uk


Print Friendly
Supporter of Post Navigator Premium WordPress Plugins